2017 is upon us. Well, it has been for a couple months now, and as such, there’s a new year coming for Hearthstone. 2016 was the Year of the Kraken, and 2017 will be the Year of the Mammoth.

And with it come some sizable changes. First and foremost, the oldest expansions are rotating out of the Standard format and moving to Wild. This includes Blackrock Mountain, The Grand Tournament, and League of Explorers, and Blizzard has slated three new expansions to release throughout 2017. They’re doing away with the smaller adventures and focusing all their efforts on expansions with a sizable card pool. But expansions will now feature a few single player missions to help communicate the story and lore to players.

On top of that, some of the most powerful neutral and class cards – rather than being nerfed – are being rotated out of Standard and into Wild. This includes:

  • Azure Drake
  • Sylvanas Windrunner
  • Ragnaros the Firelord
  • Power Overwhelming
  • Ice Lance
  • Conceal

Instead of allowing players to disenchant these cards for the full dust value – as they previously have – Blizzard have decided to instead just grant all players the cards’ dust value. That way players are compensated for their removal from Standard while also being able to hold onto the cards for use in Wild.

But you can read more about the changes in the official blog post.

Leave your comment